Our History 

In 1981, the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. (NCBW) was formed with a mission to advocate on behalf of black women and girls to promote leadership development and gender equity in the areas of health, education and economic empowerment. During its 34-year history, NCBW has chartered over 75 chapters with a cumulative membership of more than 7,500 women, representing 28 states.

New Haven Metropolitan Chapter 

Board of Directors


Valencia A. Goodridge, MBA, President

Miriam James, 1st Vice President of Programs

Jenell M. Lawson, MBA, 2nd Vice President of Finance

Karrol-Ann Brown, Esq., 3rd Vice President of Membership

Lorraine Gibbons, Treasurer

Sheila Brown, Recording Secretary

Cynthia Hayes, Corresponding Secretary

Lisa Willis, Financial Secretary

Agnes WilsonPublic Policy

Taylor Samuels-Gonzalez, Director

Victoria Dancy, Director

Dr. Verna McGee, Director

Michelle Crook, Director

Sherlyn Garner, Director

New Haven Metropolitan Chapter Active Members 

Carlotta Allen *

Shirley D. Anderson

Gwen Brantley

Raynetta Ford-Thames

Twanda Grey

Valerie King *

Valita Luckett *

Micheka Felican *

Askar Morisseau *

Angela Scipio

Kara Melissa Turman *

Regina Vermont

Carolyn Vermont

Joanne Butler

Rhoda Huxstable

Holly Heaven

Lisa L. Johnson

Sharesse McLeod

Jacqueline R. Scott

Jennifer Walker

* Indicates Committee Chair

© 2018 National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc.

New Haven Metropolitan Chapter 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Organization 

All Rights Reserved. 

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon